Critic’s Choice

Tue Feb 19, 2019 at 4:53 pm
By Steven Brown

Ruth Reinhardt. Photo: Tracy Martin

Stephen Hough is at his scintillating best in music that demands dash, color and finesse. Felix Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1 is exactly that kind of piece, and the British pianist has it in store this weekend with the Fort Worth Symphony.

Ruth Reinhardt, who recently finished a two-season stint as the Dallas Symphony’s associate conductor, returns to the area for her Fort Worth Symphony debut. She opens the program with Igor Stravinsky’s bustling Danses Concertantes, a work whose clarity and crispness may complement those of Mendelssohn’s concerto. After intermission, the orchestra will take off into the glowing sonorities and grand gestures of Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No. 5.

Performances are at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday and 2 p.m. Sunday in Bass Performance Hall.; 817-665-6000.

Leave a Comment